Daily Prompt: Sacred

vintage-guitarvia Daily Prompt: Sacred

Destitute and famished
A conflicting decision
Is to be made
During this time of hardship

A vintage guitar that I
Consider to be sacred
Sits idly in its washed-out case
I take it out to caress it, and
Cherish the beauty of the faded
Cherry sunburst finish

The scent of its mahogany body
Takes me back to the glory days
Of actively playing it
On a regular basis
Before its retirement
Now confined to a case for safeguard

I must make the choice
Do I keep it, and starve?
Or do I sell it, and live in comfort?
It’s a determination that is
As damning as playing Russian Roulette
Which choice do I make?
2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Sacred

Leave a Reply

