Homesick

Far Away from home
Separated from my tribe
Off-course and downcast
Miss out on riding freely
With stallions on an open range

Bear yellowed photographs
For a recollection of the days
When eyes were effervescent
Hear the familiar voices
Of the family that I unearthed not long ago

The absence of a warm embrace is succinctly
Felt by holding a mangled teddy bear
That I once possessed like a security blanket
As a young child
I long to return to my dwelling someday

*Written 12/17/16 while away on holiday
Leave a Reply

