Lukewarm

via Daily Prompt: Lukewarm

In a small coffee shop
Walls covered with murals of
Bookshelves stacked with books
Giving the feel of a library
Prepared to perform to a packed room

I confidently stride towards the mic
Dressed in a Pierrot costume which masks
The butterflies floating in my stomach
With fears of a mediocre performance
Resulting in a lukewarm reception

I take a deep breath before I gab
To the hushed crowd, I fall backwards
Laughter echoes through the room
I purposely trip towards the masses
They fall to the ground simultaneously

I keep the slapstick antics on 
For another few minutes without words
The audiences eats it all up wanting more
In the limited time before the buzzer rings
I take my bow to a standing ovation
Leave a Reply

